Mark Deuze Says Goodbye

By Edo Steinberg

Prof. Mark Deuze has been at IU for nine years, first as a visiting professor in Journalism and Communication and Culture for one year, followed by eight years in Telecom. He is now leaving for the University of Amsterdam, but will remain associated with IU and may return one day.

“I’m sorry to be leaving,” Mark says. “I really like being here, but home is calling. I have an elderly mother who needs support and all my friends and family are there. I need to be there for a while and then I’ll see what happens next.”

Mark will continue to follow developments concerning the merger between Telecommunications, Communication and Culture and the School of Journalism. “I’m obviously very interested in IU and the new school,” he says. “It could be something really amazing.”

“What I’ll remember most is freedom,” Mark says of his experiences in our department and in the United States. “Freedom to live your life, to build a home, to work on your career, to teach your own classes, and to work with students that you like. There’s a lot of space and freedom to do your own thing. That is very rare, especially in Europe. That’s definitely what I’ll remember and what I won’t find where I’m going.”

“I’m very grateful to the university and this department for allowing me to do my own things, like T101, which is a really crazy course. To be able to develop that in freedom and to remodel it and to make it the way it is now, that’s a lot of trust,” Mark says. “I’ve learned so much. I really feel like I’m going back to apply the lessons learned.”

Mark’s signature undergraduate class, T101, will now be taught by Amy Gonzales. “She’s fantastic, so I’m really excited that she’s going to take it over. She’s a wonderful new professor with an amazing research track record, so the quality of the course will definitely improve. I think it will fit better with the rest of the curriculum. Right now it is its own weird animal, and with Amy teaching it, it can become the benchmark course for the new school.”

T505, Mark’s core MS course, also has new possibilities in its future. “Steve Krahnke has taught it in the past and that went well. Maybe Robby Benson can teach it. That would be cool. Maybe somebody with a production and management background, more so than me, would teach it. I’m just a researcher. That would be very beneficial to the MS students.”

“It’s good that professors don’t own classes,” Mark says. “It kind of happens, when you develop a course and you teach it every year. But it’s good if there’s dynamism and rotation.”

Good luck in Amsterdam, Mark, and hopefully we’ll see you in Bloomington again!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Good Luck Mark! I’ll miss you and am grateful for what you brought to our faculty.

    Reply
  2. Good luck Mark. Thanks for being a great mentor and friend to me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

