New Year, New Neighbors

By Mona Malacane

While we won’t be moving into Franklin Hall with all of our new Journalism and CMCL colleagues until Fall 2016, over the break we welcomed a few new faces to the third floor. New to the RTV building are Dr. Jessica Myrick, Assistant Professor, and Dr. Lesa Hatley Major, Associate Dean of the Media School. This week I sat down with Jessica Myrick to chat about her move over to Telecom.

Welcome to the land of never ending construction.

Welcome to the land of never ending construction.

Jessica’s new office is Room 335, on the west end of the hallway, which in my professional opinion* is a rather nice piece of real estate: close to the restrooms, stairs, copy room, and the perfect amount of non-assaulting natural light for her visitors. Though Jessica’s office is well-located inside the building, RTV’s location, which is further down the road than her former office in Ernie Pyle Hall, has presented new lunch hour challenges. Jessica explained, “I had gotten pretty used to being so close to the Union and Kirkwood so my food schedule is a little different now, but I’m a big fan of the Friends of the Art Bookstore and now I get my coffee from Angles instead of getting it from Sugar and Spice … I could go to the library but I was an undergrad here and [it] reminds me of … painful group projects.”

Jessica's Parks & Rec mug that I kind of fell in love with.

Jessica’s Parks & Rec mug that I kind of fell in love with.

But the move has also had its perks: “Everyone has been really friendly. Lots of people walked down the first week I was here and introduced themselves and yesterday I couldn’t get the copier to work and Mike McGregor helped me which was very nice. Everyone has just been really welcoming and open.” Telecom faculty have also been sharing their tips and tricks with Jessica, she explained, “Multiple people came to me and said, you know you don’t need to leave your door open and you can cover the little window, and then I really did notice that everyone had very unique, creative covers. So I’ve been debating ideas now and I’m near decision.”

Jessica is in the standing-desk club, along with Annie and Robby.

Jessica is in the standing-desk club, along with Annie and Robby.

Her time in Ernie Pyle isn’t completely over – Jessica is teaching one of her courses in Journalism this semester (J343: Broadcast News) and she also carpools with her husband, who is the studio manager over in Journalism. Funny enough, the back and forth from Ernie Pyle to RTV, and working in the RTV, aren’t new to Jessica, who completed her undergraduate and master’s degrees here at IU. After completing her master’s, she was on Journalism staff for two years before moving to Telecom to work at WTIU from 2009 to 2010. Thereafter Jessica went to the University of North Carolina for her doctoral studies, joined Journalism in Ernie Pyle Hall on graduation, and is now back to RTV.

“I used to be a reporter/producer for WTIU News. So I’ve had a lot of déjà vu moments … I’ve started walking down towards the newsroom and I’m like, oh no wait, gotta go upstairs! … So it’s sort of like coming back to a familiar place … I’m following the same pattern of Ernie Pyle Hall,

A dream office for Jessica would include floor to cieling bookshelves (for a much more extensive book collection), space for a yoga mat, and a deluxe dog bed, some more good fake plants, definitely a window

A dream office for Jessica would include floor to cieling bookshelves (for a much more extensive book collection), space for a yoga mat, and a deluxe dog bed, some more good fake plants, definitely a window

RTV, Ernie Pyle Hall again, RTV again.”

It’s a familiar feeling for her and perhaps one that we will all start experiencing in the future. Jessica summed this point up nicely saying, “I feel like maybe this semester is symbolic of the media school as a whole. Learning different spaces, different routines, different cultures, just sort of in a state of transition – we technically are the media school, but not yet.”

 

**By “professional” I mean I have watched an embarrassing amount of HGTV real estate/remodeling shows.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

